Southwest Region

House on the top of a cliff next to a waterfall


The Southwest Basin is located in the southwest corner of Colorado and covers an area of approximately 10,169 square miles. The largest cities within the basin are Durango (pop. 15,213) and Cortez (pop. 8,328). The region also includes three ski areas: Telluride, Wolf Creek and Durango Mountain Resort. The Southwest Basin is projected to increase in municipal and industrial (M&I) water demand between 17,000 acre feet (AF) and 27,000 AF by 2050 with passive conservation included.


All Coloradans are encouraged to participate in the basin roundtable process. Contact your basin roundtable for ways to get involved.

Basin Implementation Plan (BIP) Documents:

Final Southwest BIP Submitted 4-17-2015

Appendix A

Appendix B

Appendix C

Appendix D

Other information:

Southwest Basin Roundtable CWCB Page Info

Southwest Basin Roundtable Homepage

2016-2018 PEPO Education Action Plan